Distance learning libraries and libraries as social space

I’ve been doing some serious literature searching today for the project using primarily LISTA (Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts) from EBSCO. I’ve been thinking about my keywords quite seriously. For example “web 2.0” produced a huge number of hits – far more than I expected. I also tried “distance learning” and “distance education” and then “social space”. Compiling lists of literature to read is slightly depressing, as it starts to seem overwhelming! I’ve read some really interesting stuff about the library as the ‘third’ place, and the “library as place”, which was a theme of an ALA conference in 2005. I have been adding useful web resources and report things to delicious if you want to find out more. It also seems that the ALA has a Distance Education Section as part of the Association of College and Research Libraries. And there are several journals. I can’t find any UK equivalent body, but please do let me know if you know of one! I’ll be in Leeds tomorrow for the rest of the week, but back blogging soon!

Leave a Reply

