Distance learners and libraries as social spaces

I’m desperately trying to finish the literature review now in time for our next Steering Group meeting which we’ve just fixed for the 20th June – thanks to Meet-o-matic. A very handy little tool.

Today I’ve been concentrating on writing about libraries and distance learners and libraries as social spaces. I’ve been reading Going the Distance: library instruction for remote learners, but Susan J Clayton, but also reading up on the OU support for students, various journal articles, plus I found a useful online bibliography on distance learning librarianship. Libraries as social spaces is coming together more slowly as it’s difficult to know what to focus on, but there are quite a few articles in the Chronicle of Higher Education libraries section that are useful. I’m trying to write something on Information Commons, ‘library as place’ and changing learning spaces more generally.

I’ve been asked to do a podcast next week for the Government department at LSE on citing and referencing. I plan to teach the course face to face and record the audio and powerpoint using Camtasia. I think this might be a useful case study, because although the students are not distance learners apparantly lots of them have asked for it, so it will be a good chance to get some feedback from students. I’ll be fascinated to find out whether they really will listen to a citing and referencing podcast!

Yesterday was the Heron User Group meeting, so a chance to catch up with friends as well as chair the meeting! I found out other Heron users are also exploring social software, for example playing with Facebook and I heard more about Lyn Parker’s exploits in Second Life, which convinced me I really must install it on my Mac as it definitely won’t run at home or work. Anyway, off to the South Bank now to enjoy the sunshine!

One thought on “Distance learners and libraries as social spaces

  1. Hi! That’s great you are recording your course with Camtasia Studio! Please let me know if there’s anything I can do to help. Drop me a line. I ‘d love to chat more.

    Also, if you join Second Life, we can chat in there too – I’m ‘Tuesday McKay’.

    And, please let me know if you have any feedback about Camtasia. We’re always looking to improve it.

    Betsy Weber, Chief Evangelist
    TechSmith

Leave a Reply

