Online reading lists

I decided to explore how you might use CiteULike to set up an online reading list. My feeling is that it is probably good for managing your own references, but I’m not sure how useful it is for managing a reading list as you can’t add enough annotations to the list as a whole. You also don’t seem to be able to order the list very easily. I have tried to tag all the readings with the same tag so there is a link to the specific resources for one course. For example, the Introduction to Information Systems course reading list which is a External Programme course is now available at: http://www.citeulike.org/user/seckerj/tag/60introinfsys

This reading list was very short – I searched the Amazon catalogue to add the books to the list. I found CiteUlike is probably better for lists of journal articles than books as I had trouble finding the correct addition to the book to add to the list on Amazon. Ideally I would like to pull the books from a library catalogue rather than from Amazon.I also tested a few other online reading list management tools to compare them with CiteUlike. So far I’ve tested H20 Playlists which were developed by Harvard Law School. Initial thoughts are this system isn’t as easy to use as CiteULike, in terms of adding books or articles. You seem to need to add things manually and there don’t seem to be any plug-ins that allow you to pull records from Amazon or other catalogues. This slows down the process of creating a reading list. However the software is designed to create reading lists, and is more useful in terms of adding annotations and notes for students about the material they should read. You can also add headings to the list and very easily move items around on the list.

The same reading list in H20 is available at: http://h2obeta.law.harvard.edu/160724 As this reading list only includes book it occurs to me I could also use LibraryThing which is really easy to use. Again whether it’s useful for a reading list that needs annotations and structure remains to be seen. If anyone has any other good social software tools they think I should try out let me know.

As this reading list only includes book it occurs to me I could also use LibraryThing which is really easy to use. Again whether it’s useful for a reading list that needs annotations and structure remains to be seen. If anyone has any other good social software tools they think I should try out let me know.

Leave a Reply

