Concentrating on case studies distracted by stuff!

This lovely sunset over Istanbul is supposed to help me relax and not panic as it’s less than a month til Christmas, I’ve not started my shopping, but more importantly I’ve got five case studies and an updated literature review to finish for LASSIE. On top of that I seem to have a constant round of talks to prepare. Tomorrow I’ve not got my LASSIE hat on but I’m talking to government librarians about the practicalities of running training sessions.

I’m neglecting my blog reading but did spend some time watching and listening to Meredith Farkas talk about building the academic library 2.0, at a conference in Berkeley, California. She’s really inspiring, and I’ve left a comment on her blog, knowing how great it is to get comments myself! I also noticed the Distance Librarian has spotted the LASSIE team again! Sheila Webber also highlighted a great conference called Beyond the Hype: Web 2.0 in Brisbane, if only we had some money left in the travel budget. If I didn’t have enough blogs to read, thanks to Gwyneth for pushing this one on Social Networking and Libraries, to me. If you want to see a list of best librarian blogs, then check out the nominated Edublogs. I’ve also just looked at Protonos, the scholars social network a as highlighted on the Infodoodads blog. I was thinking about the concerns of some publishers at last week’s conference about changes in scholarly communication – perhaps they should keep an eye on this one! Finally thanks to Matt who reported on the Blogs and Social Networks event he attended earlier this week at Coventry. Read his full report on the CLT Blog.

One thought on “Concentrating on case studies distracted by stuff!

  1. Thanks for the kind words about my talk, Jane! I’ve been a reader of your blog for a while as well. 🙂 It’s always nice to find other librarians involved in distance learning and interested in social technologies — maybe we need a support group!

Leave a Reply

