No time to reflect!

Rachel de Thame's garden at Chelsea Flower Show

This tranquil scene from last month’s Chelsea Flower Show is to help calm my mind, which is working overtime. Last week was probably one of the busiest week’s ever! I spent Monday at the ALISS AGM, and it was my last official duty as Chair of the Group. After 3 years as Chair of ALISS I decided to stand down, due to being slightly overloaded. After reading this update you will probably realise I’ve been doing too much! The topic of the meeting was Digitisation and Innovation and we had three speakers, including Amanda Spencer from the National Archives, talking about web continuity, Guy Grannum also from the National Archives, talking about their wiki project, Your Archives. The final speaker was Edward Wood, from the House of Commons who spoke about the project to digitise Hansard which has recently been completed. Overall a great meeting and presentations from the day are on the Recent Events section of the ALISS website.

Tuesday was the Heron User Group meeting, which I also chair. We had case studies from three institutions who provide digitisation services. We also had an update from David Anderson-Evans from UUK, on the negotiations with CLA for the scanning and photocopying licence for HE. We also launched an Eduserv funded toolkit, aimed at those working in higher education getting copyright clearance called the Copyright Toolkit. Grant Young from TASI spoke about using images under the CLA Licence and we rounded off the day with breakout groups talking about scanning services and future developments.

On Wednesday I attended the TILE (Towards and Implementation of Library 2.0 in the E-framework) project meeting. There are some slides on SlideShare about the ‘pain points‘. I must confess to finding the project quite technical, rather than focusing on the user experience, but I did get to meet Dave Pattern, from Huddersfield who has also blogged about the meeting and offered to take me for a curry when I next venture ‘up north’ (Actually I was in Sheffield at the weekend!)

Thursday there was a lot of catching up to do, plus putting the finishing touches to a JISC bid. Then Friday I was in Bath, seeing Ed Barker from Eduserv for the second time that week! This time it was with my Information Literacy group hat on, as the group are exploring the possibility of Eduserv hosting more web content for us.

I was shattered by the weekend, and still haven’t blogged about the Bradford event on 12th June. Just quickly, it was about Web 2.0 and libraries and organised by YUISG. I kicked off the day, and other speakers included Peter Godwin, Lyn Parker talking about Second Life (and penguins!). There was also a great presentation from Jamie Wood at CILASS at the University of Sheffield, partly about the role of student ambassadors, but I was also really interested in how he’s been using del.icio.us when teaching medieval history.

This week should be slightly quieter and I’m off to Spain on Thursday for a long weekend and hard earned rest!

Leave a Reply

