Facebook symposium in Liverpool

Facebook imageI’ve just had notification from Adi Kuntsman at Liverpool John Moores University that details about the Facebook symposium I’ll be speaking at on 24th October are now online. She’s asked me to publicise this event widely, so do sign up if you are interested in finding out more about how Facebook is being used, and joining the discussions! I’ve just started updating my LASSIE Facebook and Libraries case study to prepare for my presentation. I’ll be contacting people are various libraries who are using Facebook to find out a bit more about how, why and the issues they are facing. If you are doing anything exciting in terms of promoting your library through Facebook do let me know!

2 thoughts on “Facebook symposium in Liverpool

  1. At the University of Wolverhampton we are still experimenting with our Facebook Page. We currently have over 150 fans but I know many of these are library staff, I’m not sure how many are genuine students. We haven’t promoted it very widely yet, I’m still working on how best to promote it – if anyone has any ingenious ideas please let me know!

    We tend to use the page to help promote new services (by sending out updates to fans) as well as our information skills sessions. We have the Google Calendar application on our page which has details of all our events and we have also added them to the Facebook Events.

    I’m currently investigating the option of adding a catalogue application but I’m not sure if it would be used.

  2. Hi Jo – thanks for the feedback. I’m about to put a short survey out, so I would be grateful if you could complete it!

Leave a Reply

