LILAC call for papers closes as I head on my hols!

Water lillies at Wisley

I’ve got just two days left in work before I head down the Nile on a cruise with a visit to Cairo and the Pyramids (photos to follow!). There is lots to do before then as the LILAC call for papers closes tonight at midnight and I’ll be dishing out all the papers to referees! I’ve been reflecting a lot on my teaching recently – the MI512 course for PhD students is going well and each week someone says something that surprises me. Yesterday a student who’s earlier queried why they might ever use newspapers as a source for their thesis, then told me he’d really enjoyed the session as prior to that had been using Google for his literature search! I have also now got a guest login to the other information skills course I’ve been working on, for the external programme at LSE. If anyone would like a logon to see the new course for distance learners in Moodle, please let me know.
With my copyright hat on, I’ve been helping the CLA set up a working group of higher education institutions for feeding back on Surveys and Data reporting under the licence. I’ve also been preparing for the Heron User Group meeting on the 8th December, which is once again open to non-Heron members. This time we’ll be at University of Sheffield.

Finally thanks to Jacqui Weetman-DaCosta for alerting me to a new publication:

Johnson, A., Jent, S., and Reynolds, L. (2008) “Library instruction and information literacy 2007” Reference Services Review, 36 (4), 450 – 514. DOI: 10.1108/00907320810920405
In addition to listing two publications by me, other important writers in the IL field are cited including: Brabazon, Godwin, Crawford & Irving, Corrall, Hepworth, Webber, D. Williams. I won’t be blogging next week, but should be back from my travels in early December.

Leave a Reply

