New Jersey calling!

Elafonisi beach, Crete

I’ve been away on my holidays again, this time in Crete and I managed to stay away from libraries for a whole week. I’ve posted a picture of the lovely Elafonisi beach in south west Crete.

However, I am now looking forward to my trip to New Jersey next week when I am visiting Princeton University, Princeton Public Library and also attending a meeting of information literacy librarians at Monmouth University on the New Jersey coast. I will be traveling with my friend and fellow LILAC organiser, Debbi Boden, Deputy Director at University of Worcester and staying with Jacqui Weetman-Dacosta, who now works at the College of New Jersey. Another highlight of the trip is also going to be attending a book launch at Princeton Public Library for the new Phillippa Gregory book, the White Queen. I have bought my copy for signing already! And thanks to Leslie Burger, who was one of the LILAC 2009 keynotes, for inviting us back in March! I’m really looking forward to meeting various colleagues at Princeton, who have put together a great programme for our visit to take in meeting librarians dealing with information literacy issues and copyright and e-reserves.
In between my trips I have been busy at work, running reading list training sessions for staff preparing their reading lists in Moodle. I’ve also been at a meeting of the Copyright Licensing Agency Surveys and Data Working Group yesterday and and Information Literacy Group meeting at CILIP. Today is the induction session for new academic staff at LSE, so I was really pleased to get my new Copyright and E-learning guides ready, just in time! I’ve also scheduled all the classes for next term’s Digital Literacy programme. Phew, with all that going on, I will need a holiday, so luckily I will have a few days on my trip for sightseeing and shopping. We are planning a trip to Philadelphia and to Manhatten and have one night’s stay just off Time Square!

Leave a Reply

