Xerte – the open source tutorial tool

Sunflowers at Hampton Court Flower Show

Yesterday I was attending the JISC RSC Yorkshire and Humber event ‘Excellence in Learning resources’ at Calderdale College in Halifax. This is the third time I’ve been to one of their events organised by Scott Hibberson and once again I had a really good day out, I met some friends from the last two events and some new ones. I don’t know why I am surprised, but I always come away thinking that the issues we face in higher education are so similar to those in further education and we really should talk more. The theme of the day was information skills, and I was delivering a similar workshop to the one I ran at the UC&R / CoFHE conference in Exeter a few weeks ago about how we teach students information management skills using web 2.0 tools, including delicious and Google Reader.

We had a really interesting discussion about how libraries can use these tools to sign post students to good quality resources and I showed the group LSE Library’s delicious account. I really enjoyed the afternoon session presented by Kathryn Summerwill, Assistant Archivist at University of Nottingham, who was talking about how the library are using Xerte to develop online tutorials for information literacy. I didn’t realise this tool had won several prizes and I’ll be recommending we look at it in some detail, as I think our library would find it really useful to revamp some of their information skills materials in Moodle and make them more interactive.

The last session of the day we spent having small group discussions about useful information literacy websites, how to engage academics and sharing good practice about how to engage students. I picked up lots of useful tips from the day, so thanks everyone for a really interesting and stimulating day in Halifax!

Leave a Reply

