Cambridge calling

Green sculpture at the Eden Project

This is very much advance notice, but I’ll be taking some time out early next summer (or Easter Term as Cambridge call it) as I’ve been lucky enough to be awarded an Arcadia Fellowship at the University of Cambridge. I’m really looking forward to spending a decent length of time doing some research and being able to stop simply reacting to the hustle and bustle of the day job! I went to visit former LSE colleague, and now Deputy Librarian at Cambridge, Sue Mehrer and Professor John Naughton over the summer to talk about ideas for the work I might do.

The Arcadia Programme is now in its final year, and there have been some fantastic projects focused on exploring the role of the academic library in the digital age. I’ll be working in an area that builds on my experience and interests: to develop a new curriculum for information literacy. John put a useful summary of the recent ACRL report, Futures Thinking for Academic Librarians: Higher Education in 2025, on the Arcadia blog last week. There has also been similar work in the UK to look at libraries of the future. As my plans shape up I’ll keep you posted, but Fellowship will start around the end of April / beginning of May.

Leave a Reply

