The digital literacy advisor advises Cambridge

LILAC 2011 International event

Just before I left LSE I was officially given a new job title of Copyright and Digital Literacy Advisor. I’ve not had a chance to tell people about it as the notification from HR came on my last day in the office. However, I feel since I’ve arrived at Cambridge this new job title is really helpful in explaining to people what I do on a day to day basis. I did a talk last week to a group of Cambridge librarians about the support for postgraduates we provide at LSE. My slides are on SlideShare. It was a good chance to meet people and visit the English Faculty library where Libby Tilley and Niamh Tumlety work.

Niamh also gave me some useful advice about running a TeachMeet, which I’m doing for the CoFHE London and South East Group on the 23rd May. I’ll be back at English tomorrow and now I have my bicycle I’m really finding my way around Cambridge.

This evening Wolfson College had a poster presentation as part of their research day. I dropped in on my way back from a great afternoon at the Education Department library. During the poster session I ended up chatting with a teaching fellow about supporting PhD students and some of the web presence courses we’ve been running at LSE. Consequently this evening I spent time with a small group including four of the Wolfson Press Fellows running an informal blogging training session! We had a lot of fun, I was showing them WordPress, but we also talked a bit about your web presence (by Googling each other) and about using RSS to read the web more effectively. It could become a regular weekly session and I hope everyone gets on well with their blogs they set up this evening. I might have to enlist Matt Lingard to come up to Wolfson and help out with one of these sessions. I’m sure when I explain we ran the session in the bar and ended with wine he’ll agree to help me out! I’m rather enjoying being a digital literacy advisor to other researchers, even if its not exactly what I’m here for! It’s been a really busy week, but I’m also pleased to report Emma and I now have a short blurb about our project on the Arcadia website and we have some interviews lined up with some information literacy experts later this week and next week.

One thought on “The digital literacy advisor advises Cambridge

Leave a Reply

