Preparing to teach

Tomorrow I return to teaching, starting at 10am with the first class of our information literacy programme for PhD students, MY592 at LSE. I’ll be joining colleagues for the first hour of the 2 hour workshop, and then running next week’s session and the final session in week 6. However, I also start teaching students on our PG Certificate in Teaching in HE tomorrow. Module 1 on Planning your teaching kicked off a few weeks ago and I’ll be running the workshop on learning technologies at midday with my colleague from TLC, Claudine. It’s our first time teaching together, so I am really looking forward to it, but also hoping all our timings and activities, including using the voting system, works ok!

I know lots of people hit the ground running at the start of term with a lot of teaching, but it’s often a slower start for me after the initial induction programes for staff. Next week I’m running the Managing your Web Presence workshop, and I’m also preparing a day long training programme on copyright issues for another university. But I’m really going to be busy later this month with workshops and conferences. I will also be taking the long train ride to Aberystwyth to give a lecture at the Department of Information Studies in a few weeks time. Oh and in case you missed it, the conference I presented at a few weeks ago on Future Strategies for HE libraries, was picked up by the Times Higher and you can read the write up here. My presentation on Librarians as Teachers Integrated into the Curriculum is on Slideshare.

Leave a Reply

