First LACA meeting

Today I attended my first meeting of the Libraries and Archives Copyright Alliance (LACA) which I have been aware of for a number of years. I was really honoured when they invited me to join the group last month to represent academic libraries. The meetings are held at CILIP and there is representation from a wide range of groups with specific knowledge of copyright issues and many of whom represent specific groups in the library and information world. The group do a lot of advocacy work, meeting with the Intellectual Property Office as well as having representatives in Europe and on international committees. As it was my first meeting, I spent a lot of time listening and trying to keep up with all the latest copyright developments, related to the Hargreaves Review and the Enterprise and Regulatory Reform Act 2013, which tackles issues such as extended collective licensing and dealing with orphan works. I was able to report on the meetings with the CLA over the higher education licence which is currently being negotiated. I’m really excited to join the group and look forward to working with this group of copyright experts.

Leave a Reply

