Turkish delight of information literacy

Next week I will be heading to the European Conference on Information Literacy in Istanbul. I’m presenting a paper with my colleague Maria Bell, about work we are doing to embed digital and information literacy into undergraduate teaching at LSE. We’ll be speaking about the work we did last year to survey staff across our institution and the subsequent activities since then. We’ve just put our digital and information literacy framework online so would welcome any comments. We will also say something about the new Student Ambassadors for Digital Literacy (SADL) project, which is kicking off later this term when we recruit some undergraduate students.

I’m also presenting a workshop with Nancy Graham and colleagues from the CoPILOT Committee on sharing information literacy resources as open educational resources. Our presentation is already online on Slideshare for this session.

Finally I will be taking part in a panel discussion, run by the RIDLS Coalition on the work this group has been doing in the past year, related to digital and information literacy and data management. So it’s going to be a busy week, but hopefully a lot of fun! Before I jet off, I’m also really pleased to be running a copyright workshop tomorrow for the Manchester New Professionals Network. If you haven’t checked out their website yet, they have a review of Walsh and Coonan’s new book, Only Connect which I managed to get my hands on a few weeks ago when I saw Andy at the Information Literacy Group meeting. Have a good weekend everyone, and hopefully if you are coming to my workshop on copyright tomorrow you will enjoy it. For most of you, I hope your weekend does not involve copyright issues!

Leave a Reply

