Seasons Greetings to you all

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/391/38710213/files/2014/12/img_0994.jpg

This is my last day working in 2014, so I wanted to share this festive table decoration I made with you all and wish everyone a wonderful Christmas and a happy new year.

I hope 2015 brings you everything you wish for. I’m ending the year with mainly happy news but a touch of sadness. Last week the CILIP Information Literacy group elected me to be the new Chair of their group, and I will be taking over in April 2015, as I prepare to hand over the Journal of Information Literacy to a new editor. I will be announcing further details of the new editor very soon after the new year. I’m also delighted to see over 550 people have completed the Copyright Literacy Survey, I sent out on the 1st December. Chris and I hope to start analysing the data in January and sharing our findings widely. The survey is still open until the end of the month, so if you haven’t completed it, then please do take the time! And the December issue of JIL came out on time, which means we hopefully should be indexed by Web of Science from 2015. Well done to the Editorial Board and copy editors for all their hard work.

It was with much sadness that those of us who work in higher education in the field of copyright and digitisation, learned of the death last week of the Heron Technical Manager, George Pitcher. I’ve known George well over 10 years back when I chaired the Heron User group, and when he first created a database that later became Packtracker, because I asked for his help. Helen Bartlett has been overseeing things at Heron since George was taken ill, and let us know of the news. I understand his funeral was today. So here’s to George, who will be much missed, but never forgotten. Christmas is a time of happiness to spend with family and friends, but also a time to remember the people we have lost.

Leave a Reply

