Northumbria Conference on Performance Measurement

Pumpkin Patch Kid

Pumpkin Patch Kid by richard evea licensed under Creative Commons from: https://flic.kr/p/quYQ6j

Earlier this week I attended the Northumbria Conference on Performance Measurement in Libraries and Information Services. I have to confess to being a little skeptical that it was my ‘cup of tea’ but Chris Morrison, had suggested we submit a paper here, based on the Copyright Literacy Survey results.  I just decided to go for the day, so I only had a taste of what the conference was about, but I really enjoyed it. I also felt that it tied in a lot with work I’m doing at LSE to measure the impact of not just copyright training, but wider digital literacy programmes. I am currently trying to finalise the evaluation and impact study of the SADL Programme for LSE undergraduates. As well as traditional metrics and a survey, this year we collected a lot of data through interviews with our student ambassadors, Senior Ambassadors and with staff involved in the programme.

The conference emphasised the need to be able to demonstrate (in a measurable way) how you are making an impact, whether it’s teaching digital literacy or copyright, or your services. I can see myself following up many of the papers afterwards and browsing through the programme I spotted many papers on days I wasn’t at the conference that I would have loved to attend that focused on the tricky aspect of how you measure impact when it’s about learning.

This was the first time to talk publicly about the Copyright Literacy Survey, so exciting for Chris and I. We had over 600 librarians and related professionals complete the survey in the UK and we’ve found some really interesting comparisons with those in different sectors (academic, public, schools etc.) and with the other four countries that have supplied data so far (France, Croatia, Bulgaria and Turkey). Our slides are on Slideshare.

Some of the most interesting findings were contained in the qualitative data, which focused on what librarians want to know about copyright during their professional qualifications and for CPD. I’ve included our slides below, but I am fascinated about the ‘fear’ that copyright can bring about (amongst usually competent professionals!) and the way that we need to teach copyright in a positive way. I used the analogy that it was like feeding vegetables to children and the need to embed copyright in teaching, as I’ve tried to do in the TiDA programme. The LSE IMT Comms team have also suggested that we produced copyright fortune cookies to tie in with our launch of the new scanner / photocopiers at LSE. So little messages reminding you of copy ‘rights and wrongs’ hidden inside the cookie. I love it!

Leave a Reply

