Michaelmas Term conferences, fun and games

It is now the end of term at LSE and we have had a great start to the year with the recruitment of almost 50 undergraduate student ambassadors for the SADL project. I’ve spoken about the programme several times in the last few months, for example at ECIL in October. In October I also gave a webinar for EIFL on digital literacy and a few weeks ago a webinar for staff at NUI Galway as part of their All Aboard HE project. Moira and I also ran another London Digital Student Meet-up in November at the Royal Veterinary College with colleagues from UCL and Jisc and some of the SADL team came along to take part. We were even lucky enough to meet a real horse!

Copyright cakesMeanwhile the copyright literacy roadshow continues after a successful trip to Tallinn, Chris and I were in Leeds on 22nd November for the IL and games event running a two hour copyright card game session. We also ran a workshop together last week for LSE staff, some of whom came along to play the game for a second time. It was nothing to do with the copyright cakes we tempted them with!

This week I was in Newport for the Society for Research in Higher Education (SRHE) conference where I was part of a symposium on digital literacies. Then next week I will be in Sheffield for the Social Media in Learning in HE conference playing more games – this time on copyright and the social media challenges.

I’d like to say after that I rest as I’m off work for two weeks but between Christmas celebrations, working on the updates to my 2010 book Copyright and E-learning. I’m working with Chris to update it and enjoying not only having a second set of eyes on the text, but the discussions over all the changes that have happened since 2010 in both copyright law and technology. Even terms like e-learning which we are retaining in the title, seem to have dated a little. Dare I say we have reached a state of post e-learning, where now we just talk about learning whether online or face to face? I’m not sure; what I do know is that digital literacy, learning and copyright all seem to be featuring as the major elements in my work still.

Leave a Reply

