Of dreams and nightmares and vulnerability

IMG_5301Next week I’ll keynote the Association for Learning Technology’s annual conference – ALT-C. Yes I hear you say, so what, big deal, Jane you do talks all the time. Hmmm yes, right I do, but this one is big (450 people coming this year), and a lot of my friends and colleagues attend. And I’m a keynote, up there with some pretty big names – Ian Livingstone no less, but also Josie Fraser, Donna Lanclos, Dave White and Lia Commissar. It’s fair to say I have been nervous about this since I was invited by Nic Whitton in early April. Nervous, but also slightly thrilled at being given the opportunity to do a keynote and to challenge myself. It’s really easy to stay in our comfort zone and talk to audiences we know, about projects we’ve worked on, to relatively small, friendly audiences. That is not to say ALT-C is not a conference I’m unfamiliar with. I’ve attended about 4 or 5 times since I started working in the learning technology field back in 2000. I also do know lots of learning technologists – after all I work with them every day! I can speak their language. However, I’m going to talk to them about copyright and I need to try and get them fired up about it!

In reality I have only had one nightmare, which I joked about last week on twitter. In my dream the podium was too high, the audience couldn’t hear me over some revving cars and the clicker wasn’t working so my slides kept switching at the wrong time. Nothing can be as bad as our nightmares.

So the keynote is written, the slides are finished, the credits have been done and my outfit is chosen and packed. I now just need to get myself in the zone. I’m planning some Amy Cuddy style power posing, a bit of loud 1980s music to get me in the mood (Eye of the Tiger!) and not over-doing it the night before at the conference dinner. Fear of failure is what often stops people doing something new or different. Even down to the way I prepared for this talk I’ve tried a different approach. And I’m also prepared for it not going perfectly. Afterall, as Brene Brown says, we are not perfect, we are human and vulnerability is essential to making connections with others. So if you see me this week and I look a bit distracted, now you know why. Feel free to give me a hug or a thumbs up! But I will come through this, I will enjoy it and I know I’ll make some mistakes and learn a lot. Roll on keynote number 2 eh?

2 thoughts on “Of dreams and nightmares and vulnerability

  1. Pingback: On copyright, respect and giving credit where it’s due – Libraries, Information Literacy and E-learning

Leave a Reply

