Information literacy and assessment

I’ve been trying to complete my fourth assignment for the Postgraduate Certificate in Teaching that I am part way through studying for at LSE. The module is on feedback and assessment so I have been reading the literature on information literacy and assessment. Angela Newton from Leeds University alerted me to a new book on this topic edited by Thomas P. Mackey and Trudi E. Jacobson which she has a chapter in called Collaborative Information Literacy Assessments. There is a free preview on the publisher’s website and Angela’s chapter (co written with Amanda Harrison) is entitled ‘Assessing Undergraduate Information Literacy Skills: How Collaborative Curriculum Interventions Promote Active and Independent Learning.’
I’ve also found Andrew Walsh’s recent article particularly useful published in the Journal of Librarianship and Information Science (JOLIS).  Here’s the full citation: Walsh, Andrew. Information literacy assessment: Where do we start? Journal of Librarianship and Information Science, Mar 2009; vol. 41: pp. 19 – 28.

One thought on “Information literacy and assessment

Leave a comment